Actions

Difference between revisions of "Block or Delete a Super Administrator"

From Joomla! Documentation

m (Hutchy68 moved page Block or Delete a Super Administrator? to Block or Delete a Super Administrator without leaving a redirect: Forgot to remove ?)
 
(13 intermediate revisions by 5 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
If you try to delete or block a user who is a Super Administrator, you will get an error message saying "You cannot delete (block) a Super Administrator". If you need to delete or block such a user, do it in two steps as follows:
+
Members of the Super Users have the highest authorisation in your environment. For your own protection deleting them is not allowed.
# In the User Manager, change the user's group to something other than "Super Administrator". For example, change the user to the "Registered" group. Press Save or Apply to save the change.
+
If you try to delete or block a user who is a Super User, you will get an error message saying "You cannot delete (block) a Super User". If you need to delete or block such a user, do it in two steps as follows:
As of 1.5.9, if the SA user is already blocked (since 1.5.9 seems to not allow blocking a Super Admin, this is probably an obscure case where the SA was blocked, then Joomla upgraded) unblock him/her and Save.  THEN demote the user, then...
+
# In the User Manager, change the user's group to something other than "Super User". For example, change the user to the "Registered" group. Press Save or Apply to save the change.<br>
 
# Delete or block the user in the normal manner. To delete, select the user in the User Manager and press the Delete icon in the toolbar. To block the user, open the user for editing and set "Block User" to "Yes".
 
# Delete or block the user in the normal manner. To delete, select the user in the User Manager and press the Delete icon in the toolbar. To block the user, open the user for editing and set "Block User" to "Yes".
  
[[Category:FAQ]]
+
<noinclude>
[[Category:Administration FAQ]]
+
[[Category:User Management]]
[[Category:Version 1.5 FAQ]]
+
[[Category:Access Management]]</noinclude>

Latest revision as of 19:16, 7 September 2013

Members of the Super Users have the highest authorisation in your environment. For your own protection deleting them is not allowed. If you try to delete or block a user who is a Super User, you will get an error message saying "You cannot delete (block) a Super User". If you need to delete or block such a user, do it in two steps as follows:

  1. In the User Manager, change the user's group to something other than "Super User". For example, change the user to the "Registered" group. Press Save or Apply to save the change.
  2. Delete or block the user in the normal manner. To delete, select the user in the User Manager and press the Delete icon in the toolbar. To block the user, open the user for editing and set "Block User" to "Yes".