Actions

Difference between revisions of "Disabling user registration"

From Joomla! Documentation

(Edited image caption)
(3 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
[[Image:User_registration.PNG|thumb|User Registration]]If you do not want visitors to your website to be able to register themselves as your Joomla! website users, do this:
+
{{version/tutor|1.5,1.6,1.7,2.5,3.0}}
 +
 
 +
User registrations are enabled in a default Joomla! installation. However there might be cases where you use extensions as a replacement and wish to turn off the default Joomla user management. To do this you must perform the following steps:
 +
 
 +
== Joomla 1.5 ==
 +
 
 +
[[Image:User_registration.PNG|thumb|User Registration in Joomla 1.5]]If you do not want visitors to your website to be able to register themselves as your Joomla! website users, do this:
 
* disable user registration by changing the ''Allow User Registration'' field in Global Configuration to '''No'''.  To learn how to do this see [[Changing user registration settings]].
 
* disable user registration by changing the ''Allow User Registration'' field in Global Configuration to '''No'''.  To learn how to do this see [[Changing user registration settings]].
  
 +
== Joomla 1.6+ ==
 +
For Joomla 1.6+ you must go to User Manager from the User menu. Then click on the options box and turn the parameter for Allow User Registration to 'Off'.
  
User registrations are enabled in a default Joomla! installation.
+
[[Category:Tutorials]][[Category:User Management]]

Revision as of 12:38, 12 December 2012

User registrations are enabled in a default Joomla! installation. However there might be cases where you use extensions as a replacement and wish to turn off the default Joomla user management. To do this you must perform the following steps:

Joomla 1.5

User Registration in Joomla 1.5

If you do not want visitors to your website to be able to register themselves as your Joomla! website users, do this:

Joomla 1.6+

For Joomla 1.6+ you must go to User Manager from the User menu. Then click on the options box and turn the parameter for Allow User Registration to 'Off'.