Actions

Help16

Users User Manager Edit

From Joomla! Documentation

Revision as of 20:14, 17 January 2011 by Dextercowley (Talk | contribs)

Contents

How to access

To edit an existing user, navigate to the User Manager (Users → User Manager). Then

  1. click on the name of the user or
  2. click on the check box for the user and click on the Edit button.

To create a new user,

  1. select Users → User Manager → Add New User from the menu or
  2. click on the New button in the User Manager.

Description

In this screen, you have the ability to create a new user (if you clicked on the 'New' button in the User Manager), or edit an existing user (if you selected a user and clicked on the 'Edit' button in the User Manager, or clicked on the name of a user).

Screenshot

Add/Edit User Screen

User details and parameters

You will see different fields where you can fill in or edit information of the user. These are:


  • Name. The (full) name of the user.
  • Username. The username of the user is displayed here. When a user wants to log in, he has to fill in this username.
  • E-Mail. The e-mail address from the user is displayed here.
  • New password. Fill in a (new) password. Although this field is not required, the user will not be able to log in when no password is set.
  • Verify password. Fill in the password from the field above again, to verify it. This field is required when you filled in the New password field.
  • Group. The user's Group. The following Groups are available:
    • Registered User: Normal visitors who register at the site. Can view Menu Items that have Access Level of Registered. Cannot edit or submit articles.
    • Author: Can submit new articles for approval in the front end only. A Publisher or higher must approve. Cannot edit existing articles.
    • Editor: Can submit new articles or edit existing articles from the front end only. A Publisher or higher must approve.
    • Publisher: Can submit, edit, or publish articles from the front end only.
    • Manager, Administrator and Super Administrator: Can do all of the above plus can log into the back end with increasing rights.
  • Block User. Here you can select whether to disable this user or not. Only available when editing Administrators or Super Administrators.
  • Receive System E-mails. Here you can select whether to let this user receive the system e-mails or not. Only available when editing Administrators or Super Administrators.
  • Register Date. Here you can see the registered date. Only shown when editing a user.
  • Last Visit Date. Here you can see the date on which the user last logged in.
  • Back-end Language. Here you can select the back-end language of the user. All installed languages for the back-end will be displayed in the drop-down box. Default is the language set in Language Manager.
  • Front-end Language. Here you can select the front-end language of the user. All installed languages for the front-end will be displayed in the drop-down box. Default is the language set in Language Manager.
  • User Editor. Here you can select the front-end and back-end editor of the user. All installed editors will be displayed in the drop-down box. Default is the WYSIWYG editor set in the Global Configuration.
  • Help Site. Set the help site of the user. Default is the Help Server set in the Global Configuration.
  • Time Zone. Set the time zone of the user. Default is the Time Zone set in the Global Configuration.
  • Contact information. If you linked a contact to this user, the contact information will be showed here.

Toolbar

At the top right you will see the toolbar:

New/Edit User Toolbar

The functions are:

  • Save: Save the updated user and continue editing.
  • Save & Close: Save the updated user and return to the user listings.
  • Save & New: Save the updated user and create a new user
  • Cancel: Cancel the user information and return to the user listings.
  • Help: Brings you to this help screen

Quick tips

  • Name, Username and e-mail address are required
  • If you did not fill in a particular language, editor, help site and/or time zone, the default settings from the Global Configuration, Language Manager and/or Template Manager are set.

Related information