Actions

Help33

Difference between revisions of "Users User Manager Edit"

From Joomla! Documentation

m (clean up)
m (toolbar location)
(5 intermediate revisions by one user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
{{RightTOC}}
 
{{RightTOC}}
Allows an administrator to create a new user.
+
Allows an administrator to create a new user or edit an existing user.
 
==How to access==
 
==How to access==
 
To edit an existing user, navigate to the User Manager ('''Users → User Manager'''). Then
 
To edit an existing user, navigate to the User Manager ('''Users → User Manager'''). Then
Line 14: Line 14:
  
 
== Screenshot ==
 
== Screenshot ==
[[Image:Help30:Users-User-Manager-Edit-screen.png]]
+
[[Image:Help30-Users-User-Manager-Edit-screen.png]]
  
 
== User Fields ==
 
== User Fields ==
 
+
===Selected by Top Tabs===
'''Account Details'''
+
[[Image:Help30-Users-User-Manager-Edit-Tabs.png]]
 +
====Account Details====
 +
This is the default landing view for '''User Manager Edit'''.
 
{{colheader|Name}}
 
{{colheader|Name}}
*'''Login Name'''. The user name that will be entered during login.
+
{{colheader|LoginName}}
*'''Password'''. The password that will be entered during login.
+
{{colheader|Password}}
*'''Confirm Password'''. The same password again (to make sure the password is entered correctly).
+
{{colheader|ConfirmPassword}}
*'''Email'''. Email address for this user.
+
{{colheader|Email}}
*'''Registration Date'''. The date this user was registered.
+
{{colheader|RegistrationDate}}
*'''Last Visit Date'''. The date this user last logged into the site.
+
{{colheader|LastVisitDate}}
 
{{colheader|Receivesystemmail}}
 
{{colheader|Receivesystemmail}}
 
{{colheader|Blockuser}}
 
{{colheader|Blockuser}}
 
{{Chunk30:colheader|Id}}
 
{{Chunk30:colheader|Id}}
  
'''Assigned User Groups'''
+
====Assigned User Groups====
 +
[[Image:Help30-Users-User-Manager-Edit-Groups-screen.png]]
 
*'''Assigned User Groups'''. Check the box next to each User Group that this user will be a member of. The groups that a user belongs to detemine what actions the user can do on the site and what objects the user can view on the site.
 
*'''Assigned User Groups'''. Check the box next to each User Group that this user will be a member of. The groups that a user belongs to detemine what actions the user can do on the site and what objects the user can view on the site.
  
'''Basic Settings'''
+
====Basic Settings====
 +
[[Image:Help30-Users-User-Manager-Edit-Basic-Settings-screen.png]]
 
*'''Backend Template Style'''. The template style to use for this user in the administrative backend.
 
*'''Backend Template Style'''. The template style to use for this user in the administrative backend.
 
{{colheader|Backendlang}}
 
{{colheader|Backendlang}}
Line 42: Line 46:
  
 
== Toolbar==
 
== Toolbar==
At the top right you will see the toolbar:
+
At the top left you will see the toolbar:
  
 
[[Image:Help30-Save-SaveClose-SaveNew-Cancel-Help-toolbar.png]]
 
[[Image:Help30-Save-SaveClose-SaveNew-Cancel-Help-toolbar.png]]

Revision as of 10:38, 5 January 2013

Contents

Allows an administrator to create a new user or edit an existing user.

How to access

To edit an existing user, navigate to the User Manager (Users → User Manager). Then

  1. click on the name of the user or
  2. click on the check box for the user and click on the Edit button.

To create a new user,

  1. select Users → User Manager → Add New User from the menu or
  2. click on the New button in the User Manager.

Description

In this screen, you have the ability to create a new user (if you clicked on the 'New' button in the User Manager), or edit an existing user (if you selected a user and clicked on the 'Edit' button in the User Manager, or clicked on the name of a user).

Screenshot

Help30-Users-User-Manager-Edit-screen.png

User Fields

Selected by Top Tabs

Help30-Users-User-Manager-Edit-Tabs.png

Account Details

This is the default landing view for User Manager Edit.

  • Name. The (full) name of the user.
  • Login Name. The user name that will be entered during login.
  • Password. The password that will be entered during login.
  • Confirm Password. The same password again (to make sure the password is entered correctly).
  • Email. Email address for this user.
  • Registration Date. The date this user was registered.
  • Last Visit Date. The date this user last logged into the site.
  • Receive System E-mails. Here you can select whether to let this user receive the system e-mails or not. Only available when editing Administrators or Super Administrators.
  • Block User. Here you can select whether to disable this user or not. Only available when editing Administrators or Super Administrators.
  • ID. This is a unique identification number for this item assigned automatically by Joomla!. It is used to identify the item internally, and you cannot change this number. When creating a new item, this field displays 0 until you save the new entry, at which point a new ID is assigned to it.

Assigned User Groups

Help30-Users-User-Manager-Edit-Groups-screen.png

  • Assigned User Groups. Check the box next to each User Group that this user will be a member of. The groups that a user belongs to detemine what actions the user can do on the site and what objects the user can view on the site.

Basic Settings

Help30-Users-User-Manager-Edit-Basic-Settings-screen.png

  • Backend Template Style. The template style to use for this user in the administrative backend.
  • Back-end Language. Here you can select the back-end language of the user. All installed languages for the back-end will be displayed in the drop-down box. Default is the language set in Language Manager.
  • Front-end Language. Here you can select the front-end language of the user. All installed languages for the front-end will be displayed in the drop-down box. Default is the language set in Language Manager.
  • Editor. The editor to use for this user.
  • Help Site. Set the help site of the user. Default is the Help Server set in the Global Configuration.
  • Time Zone. Set the time zone of the user. Default is the Time Zone set in the Global Configuration.

Toolbar

At the top left you will see the toolbar:

Help30-Save-SaveClose-SaveNew-Cancel-Help-toolbar.png

The functions are:

  • Save. Saves the user and stays in the current screen.
  • Save & Close. Saves the user and closes the current screen.
  • Save & New. Saves the user and keeps the editing screen open and ready to create another user.
  • Cancel/Close. Closes the current screen and returns to the previous screen without saving any modifications you may have made.
  • Help. Opens this help screen.

Quick tips

  • Name, Login Name, and Email are required.
  • If you did not fill in a particular language, editor, help site and/or time zone, the default settings from the Global Configuration, Language Manager and/or Template Manager are set.

Related information