Actions

Help33

Components Menus Configuration

From Joomla! Documentation

Revision as of 10:42, 9 December 2012 by Tom Hutchison (Talk | contribs)

Contents

Provides an method to apply global parameters to all the menus available on a Joomla site.

How to Access

On Menu Manager: Menus, click Options button at top.

Description

Menu Options allow the setting of parameters used globally on all menus such as, Title, CSS Class and Permissions.

Screenshot

File:Menus-Menu-Manager-Options-screen.png

Details

Page Display Options

This layout has the following Page Display Options.

Help30-page-display-options.png

  • Browser Page Title. Optional text for the "Browser page title" element. If blank, the Menu Item Title is used.
  • Show Page Heading. Whether or not to show the Browser Page Title in the heading of the page. The page heading is normally displayed inside an h1 HTML element.
  • Page Heading. Optional alternative text for the Page Heading.
  • Page Class. Optional CSS class to add to elements in this page. This allows CSS styling specific to this page.

Permissions

This section shows permissions configuration for Menus. The screen shows as follows.

Help30-Menu-Options-screen-permissions-tab.png

To change the permissions, do the following.

  1. Select the Group by clicking its title located on right.
  2. Find the desired Action. Possible Actions are:
    Create. Users can create this category.
    Delete. Users can delete this category.
    Edit. Users can edit this category.
    Edit State. User can change the published state and related information for this category.
    Edit Own. Users can edit own category created.
  3. Select the desired permission for the action you wish to change. Possible settings are:
    Inherited. Inherited for users in this Group from the Global Configuration, Article Manager Options, or Category permissions.
    Allowed. Allowed for users in this Group. Note that, if this action is Denied at one of the higher levels, the Allowed permission here will not take effect. A Denied setting cannot be overridden.
    Denied. Denied for users in this Group.
  4. Click Save in Toolbar at top. When the screen refreshes, the Calculated Setting column will show the effective permission for this Group and Action.

Toolbar

At the top right you will see the toolbar:

Help30-Save-SaveClose-Cancel-Help-toolbar.png

The functions are:

  • Save. Saves the configurations and stays in the current screen.
  • Save & Close. Saves the configurations and closes the current screen.
  • Cancel/Close. Closes the current screen and returns to the previous screen without saving any modifications you may have made.
  • Help. Opens this help screen.

Quick Tips

  • Remember, these choices are applied globally.

Related Information