Help4.x

Help4.x:Guided Tours: Options

From Joomla! Documentation

Revision as of 07:58, 27 June 2023 by FuzzyBot (talk | contribs) (Updating to match new version of source page)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Other languages:
English • ‎Nederlands • ‎français

Description

The guided tours give users the ability to complete walk-throughs (or tours) to better understand the interface they are learning to use.
Guided Tours Options configuration allows setting of permissions for the tours.

How to Access

  • Select System  Manage  Guided Tours from the Dashboard. Then...
    • Select the Options button in the Toolbar. The Options button is available on Tours and Steps.

Screenshot

Global configuration options

Form Fields

Permissions Tab

This section shows permissions for guided tours.

To change the permissions for this extension, do the following.

  • Select the Group by clicking its title located on the left.
  • Find the desired Action. Possible Actions are:
    • Configure ACL & Options. Users can edit the options and permissions of this extension.
    • Configure Options Only. Users can edit the options except the permissions of this extension.
    • Access Administration Interface. Users can access user administration interface of this extension.
    • Create. Users can create content of this extension.
    • Delete. Users can delete content of this extension.
    • Edit. Users can edit content of this extension.
    • Edit State. User can change the published state and related information for content of this extension.
    • Edit Own. Users can edit own created content of this extension.
  • Select the desired permission for the action you wish to change. Possible settings are:
    • Inherited. Inherited for users in this Group from the Global Configuration permissions of this extension.
    • Allowed. Allowed for users in this Group. Note that, if this action is Denied at one of the higher levels, the Allowed permission here will not take effect. A Denied setting cannot be overridden.
    • Denied. Denied for users in this Group.
  • Click Save in Toolbar at top. When the screen refreshes, the Calculated Setting column will show the effective permission for this Group and Action.


Toolbar

At the top of the page you will see the toolbar shown in the Screenshot above. The functions are:

  • Save. Saves the item and stays in the current screen.
  • Save & Close. Saves the item and closes the current screen.
  • Cancel. Closes the current screen and returns to the previous screen without saving any modifications you may have made.
  • Help. Opens this help screen.

Quick Tips

  • If you are a beginning user, you can just keep the default values here until you learn more about using global options.
  • If you are an advanced user, you can save time by creating good default values here.
  • All values set here can be overridden at the tour level.

Related Information