Help4.x

Users: Edit Profile

From Joomla! Documentation

Revision as of 03:19, 20 November 2020 by Max123kl (talk | contribs) ("Help Site" is not shown in the screenshot above - should be inserted somewhere else)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Other languages:
Deutsch • ‎English • ‎Nederlands

Description[edit]

The User Edit screen is used to create a new user or edit an existing user.

How to access[edit]

To edit an existing user:

  • Select Users  Manage from the Administrator menu. Then...
    • Search for the required user and select the name link in the Name column.

To create a new user:

  • Select Users  Manage from the Administrator menu. Then...
    • Select the New button in the Toolbar.
  • Or... Select Users  Manage  Plus icon from the Administrator menu.
  • Or... Select Users  Dashboard icon from the Administrator menu. Then...
    • Select the Plus icon from the Users panel.
  • Or... Select Home Dashboard  Site Panel  Users Plus icon starting from the Administrator menu.

Screenshot[edit]

Help-4x-users-user-manager-add-new-user-en.png

Form Fields[edit]

Account Details[edit]

  • Name. Enter the name of the user.
  • Login Name. Enter the login name (Username) for the user.
  • Password. Fill in a (new) password. Although this field is not required, the user will not be able to log in when no password is set.
  • Confirm Password. Fill in the password from the field above again, to verify it. This field is required when you filled in the New password field.
  • Email. Enter an email address for the user.
  • Registration Date. Registration Date of the user.
  • Last Visit Date. Date the user visited the site last time.
  • Last Reset Date. Date and time of last password reset.
  • Password Reset Count. Number of password resets since starting the last reset time.
  • Receive System Emails. (Yes/No) If set to yes, the user will receive system emails.
  • User Status. (Blocked/Enabled) Enable or block this user.
  • Require Password Reset. (Yes/No) If set to yes, the user will have to reset their password the next time they log into the site.
  • ID. Record number in the database.

Assigned User Groups[edit]

Help-4x-users-user-manager-add-new-user-assigned-user-groups-en.png

Basic Settings[edit]

Help-4x-users-user-manager-add-new-user-basic-settings-en.png

  • Backend Template Style. (Use Default/Hathor - Default/isis - Default) Select the template style for the Administrator Backend interface. This will only affect this User.
  • Backend Language. (Use Default/English (United Kingdom)) Select the Language for the Administrator Backend interface. This will only affect this User.
  • Frontend Language. (Use Default/English (United Kingdom)) Select the Language for the frontend interface. This will only affect this User.
  • Editor. (Use Default/Editor - CodeMirror/Editor - None/Editor - TinyMCE) Editor for this user.
  • Time Zone. (Use Default/Abidjan/Accra/Addis Ababa/Algiers/Asmara/...) Time zone for this user.

Accessibility Settings[edit]

Help-4x-users-user-manager-super-user-accessibility-settings-en.png

  • Monochrome. Yes/No
  • High Contrast. Yes/No
  • Highlight Links. Yes/No
  • Increase Font Size. Yes/No

User Actions Log Options (tab available for Super Users only)[edit]

Help-4x-users-user-manager-super-user-actionslog-settings-en.png

  • Send notifications for User Actions Log. (Yes/No) If set to yes, the User will receive user actions log notification by email
  • Select events to be notified for. Select the user actions log notifications to be sent by email.

Toolbar[edit]

At the top of the page you will see the toolbar shown in the Screenshot above. The functions are:

  • Save. Saves the item and stays in the current screen.
  • Save & Close. Saves the item and closes the current screen.
  • Save & New. Saves the item and keeps the editing screen open and ready to create another item.
  • Cancel. Closes the current screen and returns to the previous screen without saving any modifications you may have made. Or
  • Close. Closes the current screen and returns to the previous screen without saving any modifications you may have made.
  • Help. Opens this help screen.

Quick tips[edit]

  • Name, Login Name, and Email are required.
  • If you did not fill in a particular language, editor, help site and/or time zone, the default settings from the Global Configuration, Language Manager and/or Template Manager are set.

Related information[edit]